BILLD graduates serving as top caucus leader

BILLD News | January 2021

January 15, 2021

Photo of Dinah Sykes

Kansas Sen. Dinah Sykes (BILLD class of 2017) was elected in January to serve as minority leader of the Senate, making her the first new senator to hold this post in nearly a quarter century. Her predecessor had served in this position since 1996.

“I am humbled by the trust my colleagues have placed in me,” Sykes told CSG Midwest. “And I am grateful to be working alongside them as we face the challenges ahead.”

She said the caucus’s priorities will be on Medicaid expansion, access to health care services such as
preventative screenings and mental health resources, and funding for public schools.

“I will continue to build on the relationships I have with Republicans, build relationships with the freshman class, and find areas where we can come together to pass good policy for the people of Kansas.”



Several other graduates of CSG Midwest’s Bowhay Institute for Legislative Leadership Development are serving this year as top caucus/legislative leaders.

Illinois Sen. Don Harmon (class of 2005): Senate president
Indiana Rep. Todd Huston (class of 2016): speaker of the House
Minnesota Rep. Kurt Daudt (class of 2011): minority leader
North Dakota Rep. Chet Pollert (class of 2001): majority leader
Ohio Rep. Emilia Sykes (class of 2018): minority leader
South Dakota Rep. Jamie Smith (class of 2017): minority leader

In addition, North Dakota Rep. Kim Koppelman (class of 1997) was selected to serve as speaker of the House for this legislative session. In this position, he is the presiding officer of the North Dakota House of Representatives.